2018 Inductees

Dianne G. Bystrom, PhD (Ames): Long-time director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics at Iowa State University; author; professor; mentor; researcher; advocate for women in politics and leadership.

Ruth R. Harkin, JD (Cumming): Attorney; advocate; mentor; led the effort to establish the Harkin Institute for Public Policy and Citizen Engagement at Drake University; woman of many firsts – first female county attorney in Story County, first woman appointed Deputy General Counsel at the U.S. Department of Agriculture, first female President and CEO of OPIC (Overseas Private Investment Corporation), and first woman to serve on a number of corporate boards (including Conoco Petroleum Company and Bowater Company).

Jean Y. Jew, MD (Iowa City):
Professor; emeritus faculty at the University of Iowa; researcher; fought a decade-long landmark federal sexual harassment case against the University of Iowa and won; founding member of the Iowa Women’s Foundation; mentor; advocate for gender equity and combating sexual harassment in the workplace/academia.

Peggy A. Whitson, PhD (Houston, TX; originally from Beaconsfield, IA): Astronaut, scientist/biochemist, researcher; first female Commander to lead an expedition on board the International Space Station; oldest woman to walk in space; holds the record for the most space walks for a female astronaut; American Astronaut spending more days in space cumulatively, than any other American Astronaut.

2018 Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice Recipient:

Janice T. Edmunds-Wells, BS, MSW (Des Moines):  Life-long state and national advocate and activist for multicultural and women’s health equity; former Executive Officer for the Office of Minority and Multicultural Health at the Iowa Department of Public Health; social worker.


Iowa Women's Hall of Fame 2018 | Join Us!
2018 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame Ceremony
Saturday, August 18, 2017 at 9:30 a.m.
State Historical Building of Iowa (auditorium)
600 E Locust Street, 
Des Moines, Iowa 
(free and open to the public)

Not enough people are aware of the extent of Women's contributions to society, whether past or present. To highlight Women's heritage and recognize their contributions, the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW) established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1975. Each year the ICSW and the Governor welcome four women into the Hall of Fame, paying tribute to them and setting them forth as role models for others.

2018 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame and Reception 

Please join the Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in celebrating the achievements of the 2018 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame honorees at a reception immediately following the ceremony! The reception will provide a wonderful opportunity to enjoy time with friends, family and others who wish to share in this special day with the honorees.

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women | PO BOX 71234 | Clive, IA 50325